Rockabilly Birthday Party & Cake

© Hollipops Cakes 2012 - 50's Rockabilly Cake

Well here it is, this my eldest daughters 50’s themed birthday cake.

Under the gorgeous decoration (I know – I’m biased) of fondant icing, is chocolate truffle torte covered and layered with chocolate ganache buttercream.

Last night when I started this cake, I honestly did not know what it would look like. After covering the middle layer with the pink fondant I took a quick break. Not sure how, but in the 2 minutes that I was away I could see a vision of the cake in my head. So from 7pm till 1am I worked to complete that vision.

My daughter had so many ideas for the cake, that if I had done what she asked, it would have looked like a mess. So in the process of decorating I striped it back to basics. I’m glad I did polka dots because, my cake matched most of the young ladies 50’s clothing that they wore today.

© Hollipops Cakes 2012 - Rockabilly Party

Keeping with the theme, the party bags, were red & white polka dot cupcake holders. So all the kids got red and white jelly beans, balloon, a cocktail umbrella (they went down really well!), and they got a cupcake each.

The cupcakes were kept simple – vanilla sponge, vanilla buttercream with the jelly beans made into a little flower pattern. And finished off with red & violet glitter.

We kept with the 50’s theme right down to the food, sandwiches, sausage rolls, jelly and Battenberg cake.

Everyone ate and drank well, the kids had fun and filled the house with laughter, and my daughter got some really nice presents, which she is now going through and playing with.

As for me, I now get to chill out and relax. More importantly I am aiming for an early night, as all that party prep is tiring!

Leave a comment