Muesli Recipe and a Chocolate Cake Display

Sandra V Window Display - Tecoma, VIC, AUS

Sandra V Window Display – Tecoma, VIC, AUS

Well here is my chocolate cherry cake on display at Sandra V’s. The display will be up until Mothers Day – 12th May for those who have forgotten.

I really like my cake in a window, and have a vision that one day I’ll have a huge chocolate window display with some really cool cakes, and sculptures. The ones where it makes kids and adults alike stop and stare. Until then…..

Our family muesli recipe

Our family muesli recipe

This is my recipe for homemade muesli :

* 1 1/3 cup oats
* 1 1/3 cup quick oats
* 1/3 cup almonds – roughly chopped
* 1/3 dried apricots – roughly chopped
* 1/4 cup sultanas
* 1/4 cup dried cranberries – roughly chopped
* 1/8 cup pumpkin seeds (pepitas) – roughly chopped
* 1/8 cup dried blueberries
* 1/8 cup sunflower seeds
* 2/3 cup bran
* 2tbsp wheatgerm

– Mix all together and put in tupperware type of cereal container.
– You can add milk, or have it with yoghurt and add fresh fruit if you wish.

I brought large quantities of the ingredients, and just repeated the recipe until I had run out.  We ended up with 5 batches, in 2 containers. Mr Hollipops says (in his own words) “this is bloody lovely.”

It’s important to have a balanced diet with plenty of exercise, so even though I make these big chocolate cakes, which my family do on occasion get to sample or have their own, we as a family like to eat healthy and keep active.

For example, my husband runs marathons & ultra marathons, my eldest plays tennis, my youngest runs everywhere!! And I do my long distance walking. We allow ourselves some junk food, but the majority of the time it’s pretty healthy. I also make my own sauces so that I know exactly what is going into the food.

On that healthy note, I really need to start my day, things to do, and people to see.

Until then, happy baking 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

