Ruffle Flower – Wedding Cupcake Tower

Ruffle Flower - Wedding Cupcake Tower

This is what I did today.

My second wedding cake order.

Ruffle flower cupcakes, and a quilted chocolate fondant on a 6 inch cake.

Each cupcake has a thin layer of ganache and chocolate fondant. The flowers were made a few days ago, so that the fondant could dry out.

I received this order on Friday last week, on Saturday night myself and Mandy (who commissioned the cake for her friend’s wedding) talked for nearly 2 hours, about various different cakes and designs.

Her friend is getting married at 9.30am tomorrow (Saturday), it is to be a small affair, and fairly casual, so the cake had to reflect that. So we didn’t want a cake to be traditional. We had 2 ways of going with this cake. First was to have a black & white design, reflecting the brides dress. The second was chocolate. After a quick text message to her friend, chocolate was chosen.

The colours were chosen by Mandy, so they’re white shimmer, silver shimmer and teal. With black cupcake cases and teal ribbon to finish the accessories. The chocolate mud cake is covered with ganache, quilted and have some mini silver edible balls to highlight.

Engraved carabiners

The groom is a rock climber, who proposed to his bride with an engraving on a carabine with ‘will you marry me?’ So Mandy got 2 links and engraved them with the couples names – Catherine & Jon.

Ruffle Flower Cupcakes

The cupcakes had some prep work. The flowers are 4 layers of petals, because I chose to use fondant instead of gumpaste I had to let them dry for a couple of days more than I would normally.

They are glued together using Royal Icing.I was really pleased with the results, in fact I did a little happy dance once I had finished it all.

I did all the baking and decorating in the same day.

I loved making this, and it will go in my top 10 cakes.

Next cake will be my husbands birthday 🙂

Congratulations to the happy couple.

 

Leave a Reply

