To advertise, or not to advertise? That is the question.

I received a call a couple of days ago from Your Child Magazine.

They asked me whether I would be interested in advertising Hollipops Cakes through their magazine.

I met up with David today to talk about whether the magazine would be a good fit for Hollipops Cakes.

The pro’s :

This magazine is run by a couple who not only organise the magazine, but they also have their own businesses which they run from home. This magazine is free and is put in places where there are children, parents and families i.e.libraries and McDonald’s etc. The circulation area is quite large, from up here on the mountain, to Ringwood and Rowville etc.

The magazine is useful for small, medium to large businesses and the costs are reasonable.  And you have control on what your ad looks like. So these are all good things.

The con’s :

Apart from business cards, I have no advertising costs. WordPress, Facebook are free. And I also have a fantastic group of friends who love spreading the word about my cakes. And if I think about it, the magazine called me up because they had heard of me. Which shows that my name is getting out there.

On the other hand, you have the old saying “you have to spend money, to make money.”

And I’ve only really been doing this for a little while, so I’m very much learning the ropes, and I definitely want to be in control of how the business grows. Ideally by one customer at a time, to grow a solid family business.

Maybe I’m worrying over nothing, maybe I need a to relax a little and go with what the universe brings me. The universe sent me a phone call, and I should say yes.

Maybe I’m just afraid of taking the next leap into the unknown. Maybe ……

And I don’t have to decide today, tomorrow or next week. I am to think about it properly and make the decision in my own time. (Another pro).

Any advise from other bloggers who have been in the same boat would be greatly appreciated.

Back to cakes, I am in the midst of my second wedding cake, I am making ruffle flowers, which is 4-5 layers of petals, so I have to make 150. So only 100 to go. This cake is much smaller than last week. It will be a 6 inch covered in chocolate fondant, quilted and silver balls. Underneath will be 24 cupcakes the flowers will be white, silver shimmer and teal. It should look really pretty when finished.

On that note, I really need to get off the laptop and get back to work, as those flowers most definitely won’t make themselves.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

