My First Wedding Cake

My First Wedding Cake

Well here it is – my first official wedding cake order.

It is 2 double barreled – 2 tier, dark chocolate mud with white chocolate mud layers. Each layer has a thin covering of chocolate ganache.

Wrapped around the cake is chocolate fondant, and then white fondant to finish.

It took the best part of 2 days to fully complete, and I will be honest and say that it was quite challenging at times. Mainly due to the fact that this is the biggest cake I’ve made.

And it was incredibly heavy once finished. I am curious to know how much it weighed – maybe next time I’ll get the scales out. With the quantities of flour, sugar, butter, chocolate etc, it would be at least 10 kilo’s.

Gold Shimmer Leaves

I did nearly have the moment when the stress threaten to take over. However instead of curling up in a heap and giving up, I managed to harness the stress into something a little more productive.

I am glad that I didn’t give up, because the bride loved the cake.

Would I do things differently with the way it was made and decorated – yes I would.

I would have gone into a lot more detail. And I’ve never done double barreled before – it makes the cake look huge.

I love my roses, I am really pleased with how they look, and the gold leaves I am equally as pleased with.

I just wish I did more to the decoration.  I shouldn’t be to hard on myself. It is a learning after all.

Then again saying that if I am not hard on myself, then who will?

I received an email yesterday apologizing for the late notice, but would I do a wedding cake for next weekend.

So I will be making a small 6 inch chocolate mud cake, with 24 cupcakes underneath.

The colours will be teal, white and pale shimmer gold. So looking forward to wedding cake number 2. Hope everyone’s Friday 13th went as smoothly as mine.

My Roses

2 thoughts on “My First Wedding Cake

Leave a Reply

