The Theme – Rockabilly

© Hollipops Cakes 2011 - 50's photo shoot - dress from Sandra V and hair done by Brooke from Angelite

In the last 6 mths I have come to love 50’s clothes, they are comfortable and more importantly they are made for real women’s shapes – they allow for hips and breasts.

When Sandra V opened up in Tecoma, I didn’t think I would find anything in there that I would like – oh how wrong I was. I saw this dress and loved the colours and pattern, and never in a million years did I think that it would suit me. But it did, not only that but I had to buy a smaller size – which made me feel fantastic. Since those early days my girls have both started their love affair with the decade.

My eldest is having a birthday party this weekend, and what she wants most is a 50’s theme party. Which in turn means for myself, that I have to come up with a rockabilly theme birthday cake.

Either that or I have to make a poodle skirt cake. Of course if she had her way it would be a mish mash of both. However I think we have nearly settled on an idea, which is good, considering I really need to get on with the prep work very soon.

All I know at the moment is that the colours are going to be pink, black & white, followed by lots of decoration. Possibly 2-3 tier, and even being considered is a topsy-turvy styled cake.

To be honest, I don’t think I will decide on the ideas until I start making it. The art of making it up as I go along, is something that I do often. Nothing like flying by the seat of your pants and hoping for the best lol.

I’ll obviously update you, as I go along. For anyone interested in checking out Sandra V, go to my Useful Links page.

2 thoughts on “The Theme – Rockabilly

  1. Looking forward to seeing your rockabilly cake and seeing some pics of your daughters 50s party!!! Goodluck and have a ball…Happy Birthday Ella for Saturday!

Leave a Reply

