Ribbon Rose Giant Cupcake

© Hollipops Cakes 2012 - Ribbon Rose Giant Cupcake

Today it is my eldest daughters birthday. We had a small celebration today with the grandparents. As it was only a few of us I decided to make a giant cupcake, decorated with ribbon roses – which I made the day before in preparation.

I only had a couple of hours spare today, as we were moving rooms around. So I baked the cake in a silicone mould. And when it was ready I put it in the fridge to cool down quickly. I layered and covered the cake in buttercream. Following that I made thin strips of fondant in 3 different colours of pink and placed them all around the cake, and making sure they slightly overlapped each other.

I then made fondant balls to split the levels. The top half was then covered in roses. For the next time I will make more roses, to make sure all the gaps are filled. However that is me being picky. My daughter and family loved the cake, and it tastes pretty good.

Next week my daughter is having a 50’s theme party with her friends. And she is currently designing (with my help) a 2-3 tier cake with a rockabilly edge. Should be quite an interesting cake by the time she is finished.

Before that, I have a Chanel inspired 40th Birthday cake to make on Friday. This cake will be black, white and a little quilting, keeping it simple and classy.

After the cake, the birthday and the room moving I’m heading for an early night.

Leave a Reply

