Daisy, Daisy give me your answer do

Daisy, Daisy

© Hollipops Cakes 2012 - Daisy, Daisy

My latest creation – the Giant Daisy Cupcake.

I apologize, as I am meant to be doing a blog a day. I’m a bad blogger lol.

Over the past week I have been making fondant daisies and allowing them to dry in my kitchen cupboard so they maintain their shape. I then brushed them with lustre and violet edible glitter – as they needed a little shine.

I also baked with silicone cake mould – for the first time. I still prefer my tins, but I thought I’d give it a go.

© Hollipops Cakes 2012 - Daisy, Daisy

Once cooled I layered and covered the cake in vanilla buttercream. I then proceeded to roll out using a fondant smoother each individual green stripes to go around the bottom of the cake. And added a band of small balls in the same 3 shades of green to act as a border.

After that I just had to place the 3 different size daisies on top of the cake.

I had a few spare daisies which I placed around the cake board in a decorative pattern.

© Hollipops Cakes 2012 - Daisy, Daisy

 

I have another giant cupcake to make tomorrow.

This one is for my eldest daughter. The cake will be covered in ribbon roses, and a similar styled bottom, just in a different colour. And to finish – it will have butterflies flying around it.

I just hope she likes it???

I’ll be back tomorrow with more cakes.

Leave a Reply

