Birthday Party

© Hollipops Cakes 2012 - 9th Birthday Cake

I made a cake today for a lovely girl who has just turned 9. My daughters were invited to the party so the whole family had a good day with food, drink, fun and plenty of laughter.

This cake is fairly simplistic, with a chocolate sponge, vanilla buttercream filling and the outside is all chocolate well except the silver balls. I have never worked with chocolate to cover such a large cake, most of my chocolate work has been on a smaller scale i.e. roses, fans and other flowers.

Being the perfectionist that I am, there is more work I need to do to perfect the method, but really enjoyed the challenge. The birthday girl was very pleased as it was her who chose the design and specifically asked for the colours and silver balls.

My next mini project is a few Valentines designs that I will be baking and decorating tomorrow – but they are just for fun, or shall I share???

Leave a Reply

