Hi World

© Hollipops Cakes 2011 - Learning new techniques

I am a stay at home Mum who loves nothing more than baking and decorating beautiful cakes.

I’ve always baked but it wasn’t until mid way through last year (2011) that I went from the annual birthday cakes, to making some gorgeous cupcakes and 4 tier chocolate masterpieces.

What I really want to achieve is to one day open up my own bakery. From the counter you’d have your choice of cupcakes in flavour as well as decoration. You would see chocolate birthday cakes with the option for them to be personalized. And it would go right up the scale in novelty and bespoke cakes. I don’t see why my dream can’t be made into reality. All I need to do is some hard work and determination and anything is possible.

Many chefs and bakers started at home using recipes that have been passed down through the generations and then made them their own.

Fiona Cairns started her business from her kitchen table. She has been cake-making for 25 years, ever since she made mini-Christmas cakes as presents and her husband, Kishore Patel, suggested that she go into business.

The company now has 75 employees and supplies more than 750,000 cakes (mostly fairy cakes) a year to shops including Fortnum & Mason, M & S and Waitrose – and personal customers, notably Sir Paul McCartney and Keith Richards. And more importantly she designed the 8 tier wedding cake for Prince William and Princess Catherine.

My attitude is this – if Fiona can do it, so can I.

For me – I want my products to do the talking, I want them to taste as good as they look. I have so much to learn and then apply, that I thought I would write about it, and share amongst the other homebakers with a dream…..

Leave a Reply

